2015 Competition

Welcome to the 2015 Riverside International Wine Competition! Our 34th annual took place on May 5, 6, and 7th, 2015.

View the 2015 results here!

    Gloria Ferrer Top Winery at 2015 Riverside International Wine Competition

    RIVERSIDE COUNTY, CA–Sonoma County sparkling wine specialist Gloria Ferrer won the award as Winery of the Year Thursday at the 34th Riverside International Wine Competition.

    The winery, a longtime star on the sparkling wine scene, won the top award for Best Sparkling Wine for its Blanc de Noirs ($22). Of the eight wines Gloria Ferrer entered, the winery won three golds and five silvers.


    Besides the sparkling wine sweepstakes award, 40 Riverside judges awarded four other sweepstakes awards:

    The Small Winery of the Year was awarded to Wollersheim Winery in Wisconsin, for its result of one gold medal and six silvers in eight entries. Wollersheim has long made exceptional wine and rarely gets recognition for its high quality.

    The Value Winery of the Year honor was awarded to Sutter Home, a Trinchero Family brand. Sutter Home entered 17 wines selling for less than $10 and won two gold medals, 11 silvers, and four bronzes. It’s the third time in the last four years that a Trinchero brand has won this award.

    The four International Riesling Foundation awards for best Rieslings went to:

    This year the RIWC judged some 1,770 wines over a two-day period, supported by many members of the Temecula Valley Wine Society who donate their time and energies to the RIWC.

    For questions that the site does not address, please contact Dan Berger at 707-528-9466.